top of page


Gbi-Abansi is one of the nine divisions of Gbi Traditional Area. The people of Abansi were part of Gbi-Kpeme, another Gbi divisional town, from which they separated to form a new, independent division. The Abansi division consists of four subdivisions: Tsevi, Daklovi, Asedukluvi and Kitivi. The vast majority of the town's members come from the Tsevi division - the division that produces the head chief and head queen of Abansi. The town is led by Togbe Adzima. Unlike his female counterpart, the head chief's name does not change in succession. Abansi's incumbent chief is Adzima V.  Mama Adzima Akorlikpo I complements Togbe Adzima V as queen of Abansi. She succeeded Mama Honu II.  Togbe Dzidoa and Mama Dzidoasi - chief and queen - represent the Asedukluvi divisions of Abansi. At the moment, the traditional seats for Daklovi and Kitivi divisions of Abansi are vacant. 


Check back here for more details on this town, including its history - the founding of Abansi and the town's traditional leaders from generations past. 

bottom of page